We will choose the Best to Hong Kong, Iran National Coach

10/3/2015 - 20:51
Iran Rugby coach said that we will be with the very best in preparation for the next stage of competition for qualifications for a place at the 2016 Rio De Janeiro Olympics.

Rugby is among the 42 sporting games at 2016 Olympics. Rugby Sevens will make its much anticipated debut and its return to the Olymics after a 92 year absence.

The two day rugby Asia Olympic Sevens Qualifier will be on the 7-8 November (16-17 Aban 1394). Iran will be competing in the men’s tournament which is a 12 team event with the men’s winner claiming Asia’s sole automatic slot amongst the 12 teams participating in the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Competing to be Asia’s representative will be China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand.

Already qualified for the men’s competition are Fiji, New Zealand, South Africa, Great Britain, USA, Argentina and the hosts Brazil. The remaining five places will be awarded to the winners of regional qualifiers in Europe, Oceania, Africa and the Hong Kong tournament for Asia as well as the winner of a 16-team international tournament to be held later in the year.

Iran Coach said much rigorous work has been done on the physical fitness and technical aspects of the players. He said that we expect high level rugby and competitive teams facing us, with Japan being singled out as the most serious challenger to Iran. Although the games are seen as challenging, the national coach predicted that the team will succeed thanks to the hard work put in by all. Such hard work ahs already led to great and proud results in the Hong Kong games against UAE and India this year, the coach added.

Over the next few weeks, the coach said there will be more warm up games against local teams in Iran to continue the preparation for the games in a few weeks time in HK.
Finally, the national coach thanks all those helping Iran Rugby, in particular the President Dr. H. Mirzaaghabaik, and Hassan Mirza Mohammeh Alipour head of Sport Federation